On January 5, New Japan Pro-Wrestling hosted its NJPW New Year Dash event at the Sumida Ward General Gymnasium in Tokyo, Japan. The event was broadcasted on NJPW World. Below, you can find the complete results and highlights of the event.

NJPW New Year Dash Results (1/5):

Hiroshi Tanahashi successfully defended his NJPW World Television Championship against Ryusuke Taguchi.

Following the match, Matt Riddle issued a challenge to Tanahashi via a video package. Tanahashi accepted the challenge but admitted he wasn’t familiar with Riddle.

The team of YOSHI-HASHI & Hirooki Goto, known as Bishamon, defeated Kaito Kiyomiya & Ryohei Oiwa.


Guerrillas of Destiny (Hikuleo & ELP) emerged victorious against Young Blood (Oskar Leube & Yuto Nakashima).

Chase Owens attacked Guerrillas of Destiny and challenged them for the IWGP Tag Team and NJPW Strong Tag Team Titles, with KENTA as his proposed partner.

House of Torture (Dick Togo, SHO, Yoshinobu Kanemaru, EVIL, Yujiro Takahashi & Ren Narita) defeated the team of Shota Umino, El Desperado, Master Wato, Tama Tonga, Tomoaki Honma, & Togi Makabe.

After handcuffing Tama Tonga, EVIL proceeded to cut his hair.

The clash between United Empire (Will Ospreay, Franceso Akira, TJP, HENARE, & Jeff Cobb) and Bullet Club War Dogs (Clark Connors, Alex Coughlin, Gabe Kidd, Drilla Moloney, & David Finlay) ended in a no contest, as the two teams engaged in a brutal brawl.

Will Ospreay announced that his final match in NJPW would take place on February 11, teaming up with United Empire against Bullet Club. David Finlay was given the choice to select the stipulation for the match, and he opted for a cage match.

The faction known as “Just 5 Guys” (SANADA, TAKA Michinoku, Taichi, DOUKI, Yuya Uemura) secured a victory against Los Ingobernables de Japon (BUSHI, Hiromu Takahashi, Shingo Takagi, Yota Tsuji, & Tetsuya Naito).

SANADA challenged Naito to another match, but Naito simply left the ring without responding.

In a KOPW 2024 Championship 10-Minute Pinfall Scramble Match, Taiji Ishimori emerged as the winner, defeating Great-O-Khan, Toru Yano, & YOH to claim the provisional title.

TMDK (Zack Sabre Jr, Kosei Fujita, Shane Haste, & Mikey Nichols) secured a victory against the team of Bryan Danielson, Kazuchika Okada, Tomohiro Ishii, & Jon Moxley.

Following the match, Zack Sabre Jr issued a challenge to Bryan Danielson.

Addition notes:

  • Shingo issued a match invitation to Jon Moxley.
  • Kanemaru extended a challenge to Desperado for the Junior title.

This concluded the event. What do you think of this show? Let us know in the comments.

Steve Carrier

Steve is the Founder of RingsideNews. He has been writing about professional wrestling since 1996. He first got into website development at the time and has been focusing on bringing his readers the best professional wrestling news at it's highest quality.

Disqus Comments Loading...