Brock Lesnar was absent from WWE television after dropping the WWE Championship to Drew McIntyre at WrestleMania 36. That changed at WWE SummerSlam last year, where he made his shocking return to WWE television and confronted Roman Reigns. Brock officially came back as a babyface, much to the delight of fans.

Brock Lesnar made his WWE debut back in 2002 and he was immediately booked as an unstoppable force who ran roughshod over talents in the company. This includes legends such as Hulk Hogan.

At the WWE Day 1 pay-per-view, Brock Lesnar won the WWE Championship after defeating Big E, Seth Rollins, Kevin Owens, and Bobby Lashley. It seems he broke a record thanks to this.

According to the Wrestling Observer Newsletter, Brock Lesnar has created history in WWE after winning the WWE Championship 20 years after his first title win, which was back in 2002. He broke Hulk Hogan’s previous record of 18 years.


”Lesnar’s previously unplanned championship reign makes it a 20 year span from when he first held the WWF/WWE title (2002 to 2022). That is a record, breaking the mark of 18 for Hulk Hogan (1984-2002) and 17 for Bob Backlund (1977 to 1994) for the title. While people think of Bruno Sammartino holding the title forever, because his runs were uninterrupted for so long, his time frame was 1963 to 1977, or 14 years,’

We will have to wait and see how Bobby Lashley vs Brock Lesnar will turn out to be at the WWE Royal Rumble pay-per-view on January 29th this year.

Subhojeet Mukherjee

Subhojeet is a professional wrestling fan for over 22 years. He got captivated by the sport during the Monday Night Wars and has a passion for it ever since. He also enjoys TV shows, movies, anime, novels and music, which broadens his perspective and appreciation for wrestling. He is a knowledgeable and respected voice in the industry.

Disqus Comments Loading...