AEW hasn’t had a terrific time with the build to Forbidden Door. From injuries to major talents like CM Punk and Bryan Danielson, to talents like Andrade El Idolo being kept off the card due to political reasons outside the company’s control. Now, it appears another talent has been pulled from the card.

AEW confirmed that Hiromu Takahashi would not be able to compete this Sunday due to him having a fever. Takahashi was scheduled to be involved in an eight-man tag match, but now the matchup has changed to a trios match. The Bullet Club will take on the team of Darby Allin, Sting, and Shingo Takagi, with Hikuleo now accompanying Bullet Club to the ring.

Forbidden Door also will feature Chris Jericho’s stable, The Jericho Appreciation Society taking on the team of Eddie Kingston, Shota Umino, and ROH Pure Champion Wheeler Yuta. Last night on AEW Rampage, a stipulation was added to where whoever wins the match will get the one-person advantage in the upcoming Blood and Guts match.

Fans are also still waiting to see who will be Bryan Danielson’s replacement in the match against Zack Sabre Jr. There’s also the question of who will walk away with the Interim AEW World Championship. With so many injuries and questions needing answers, the entire landscape of AEW could change tomorrow night. Check out the updated card for Forbidden Door below:


Interim AEW World Title Match
Jon Moxley vs. Hiroshi Tanahashi
Winner faces injured AEW World Champion CM Punk at a later date.

Fatal 4 Way for the Inaugural AEW All-Atlantic Title
Miro vs. PAC vs. Malakai Black vs. Clark Connors (replacing the injured Tomohiro Ishii)

Fatal 4 Way for the IWGP World Heavyweight Title
Kazuchika Okada vs. Adam Cole vs. Adam Page vs. Jay White (c)

Winners Take All Triple Threat Tag Team Titles Match
ROH World Tag Team Champions FTR (Cash Wheeler, Dax Harwood) vs. IWGP Tag Team Champions The United Empire (Jeff Cobb, Great-O-Khan) vs. Roppongi Vice (Trent Beretta, Rocky Romero)
Winners will leave with the ROH and IWGP titles.

AEW Women’s World Title Match
Toni Storm vs. Thunder Rosa (c)

IWGP United States Heavyweight Title Match
Orange Cassidy vs. Will Ospreay (c)

The Bullet Club (El Phantasmo, AEW World Tag Team Champions The Young Bucks (Matt Jackson, Nick Jackson)) vs. Darby Allin, Sting, & Shingo Takagi

Chris Jericho, Minoru Suzuki and Sammy Guevara vs. Eddie Kingston, Shota Umino and ROH Pure Champion Wheeler Yuta

Zack Sabre Jr vs. TBA (mystery opponent hand-picked by Bryan Danielson)

The Buy-In Pre-show
Max Caster and The Gunn Club (Billy Gunn, Austin Gunn, Colten Gunn) vs. Team NJPW Dojo (Yuya Uemura, Alex Coughlin, The DKC, Kevin Knight)

The Buy-In Pre-show
Keith Lee and Swerve Strickland vs. El Desperado and Yoshinobu Kanemaru

QT Marshall and Aaron Solo vs. Hirooki Goto and Yoshi-Hashi

What do you make of the latest AEW X NJPW: Forbidden Door lineup? Sound off in the comments section below.

Joshua Jones

Joshua Jones is a writer for both Thirsty for News and Ringside News. He's been a wrestling fan since 2004 and has always tuned into Monday Night Raw.

Disqus Comments Loading...