Jinder Mahal Has Been Champion Longer Than These Superstars

[adace-ad id="652493"]

Against all odds (and reason), Jinder Mahal successfully defended the WWE Championship against Shinsuke Nakamura. His reign is now clocking in at nearly 150 days. To put that into perspective, that’s around 5 months. Most title reigns nowadays last around 3. Think about that for a bit.

Mahal is now the 25th longest-reigning WWE Champion in history. He’s held the title longer than the superstars below.


Dean Ambrose (84 Days)

Many were shocked when Dean Ambrose won the Money in the Bank Contract in 2016. Even more were shocked when he cashed in that same night on Seth Rollins to win the title. He walked away victorious from a Shield Triple Threat. He vanquished Dolph Ziggler at Summerslam. Finally, he was dethroned by AJ Styles at Backlash, the first Smackdown exclusive PPV since 2007.

Ambrose’s memorable reign clocks in at around 3 months long. Many would have preferred him to hold the title longer, but Styles was red-hot, and him dropping the title to Styles was a good move that cemented the latter as a top guy. Ideally, that’s how title changes should work.

At any rate, Jinder Mahal has held the title nearly twice as long as Ambrose has, and lord knows when Ambrose will be back on Smackdown.

Ringside News Comment Policy

Our comment section is a place to share ideas in a public space with respect. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.